South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

  • SAARC Secretariat is in Kathmandu (Nepal).
  • It was formed in December 1985 in Dhaka on the idea put forward by then Bangladesh President Zia-ur-Rahman.
  • SAARRC members are India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Maldives and Afghanistan.
  • On April 3, 2017, Afghanistan became the latest member country to join SAARC at the 14th summit in New Delhi.
  • SAARC aims to promote people's welfare, social and cultural development and combat cooperation with other developing countries.
  • A decade of 2001 to 2010 has been declared by SAARC as the Decade of the Rights of the Child.
  • SAFTA (South Asia Free Trade area) became effective from January 2006.
  • Maldives president Maumon Abdul Gayoom is the only South Asian leader who has attended the first fourteen SAARC summits.
  • Present Secretary General of SAARC is Mr. Esala Ruwan Weerakoon, took office on 01 March 2020.

Post a Comment