Framing of Constitution of India

  • The Constituent Assembly was set up in November 1946 as per the Cabinet Mission Plan of 1946.
  • The members were elected indirectly by the Provisional Assemblies in the ratio of one member per million population.
  • There were 389 members in the Constituent Assembly, of which 296 were elected by the members of the Provincial Assemblies and the rest were nominated by the Princely States.
  • Its first meeting was held on December 9, 1946, with Sachidanad Sinha as the Interim President. He was the oldest member of the assembly and was elected as Interim President following the French practice. Later, on December 11, 1946, Rajendra Prasad and H.C. Mukherjee were selected as the President and Vice-President of the assembly. Sir B.N. Rau was appointed as the Constitutional advisor to the assembly.
  • Jawaharlal Nehru moved the objectives resolution in the Assembly on January 22nd, 1947.
  • The Constituent Assembly formed committees for framing the constitution. Chairman of some crucial committees are given below.

Committees of Constituent Assembly

Committee Chairman
Drafting Committee B.R. Ambedkar
Union Constitution Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
Committee for State Negotiation Rajendra Prasad
Provincial Constitution Committee Sardar Patel
Union Powers Committee Jawaharlal Nehru
Committee on Fundamental and Minorities Sardar Patel
The Steering Committee KM. Munshi

The Drafting Committee of Constituent Assembly was the most important committee among all the committees. It was set up on 29th August 1947. It consisted of a total of 7 members including the chairman.
  1. B.R. Ambedkar (Chairman)
  2. N. Gopalswami Ayyangar
  3. Alladi Krishna Swami Ayyar.
  4. K.M. Munshi
  5. Syed Mohammed Saadullah
  6. B.L. Mittar (replaced by N. Madhav Rao due to ill health)
  7. D.P. Khaitan (died in 1948 and was replaced by T.T. Krishnamachari).

Post a Comment