Ministry of Science and Technology

Department of Science and Technology (DST), Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) and Department of Biotechnology (DBT) are the departments that work under the Ministry of Scientific & Technology.

Department of Science and Technology (DST):

DST is primarily entrusted with the responsibility of formulation of Science and Technology policies and their implementation, identification and promotion of thrust areas of research in different sectors of Science and Technology information, forecasting and assessment; international collaboration, promotion of science and society programs and coordination of Science and Technology activities in the country.

The list of autonomous Science and Technology institutions are

  1. Agharkar Research Institute, Pune.
  2. Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital.
  3. Birbal Sahni Institute of Paleontology, Lucknow
  4. Bose Institute, Kerala.
  5. Centre for Liquid Crystal Research, Jalahalli Bengaluru.
  6. Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata.
  7. International Advanced Research Centre for Powdered Metallurgy and New Materials, Hyderabad.
  8. Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bengaluru.
  9. Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Mumbai
  10. Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru.
  11. National Accreditation Board for Testing & Calibration Laboratories, New Delhi.
  12. Raman Research Institute, Bengaluru.
  13. S.N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata.
  14. Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences & Technology, Thiruvanthapuram.
  15. Technology Information, forecasting & assessment Council (TIFAC), New Delhi.
  16. Vigyan Prasar, New Delhi.
  17. Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun.
  18. Institute of Advanced Studies in Science & Technology, Guwahati.

Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR):

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) and Consultancy Development Centre (CDC) are the two autonomous institutions that work under DSIR.
The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), with its 39 laboratories dedicated to research and development in well-defined areas and around 50 field stations, is the major organization under DSIR.
Among other programs of DSIR is support to R&D by industry, programs aimed at technological self-reliance, schemes to enhance the efficacy of transfer of technology and a National Information System for Science and Technology (NISSAT).
The list of CSIR Laboratories is as follows:
  1. Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Roorkee
  2. Center for Cellular & Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad
  3. Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow
  4. Central Electrochemical Research Institute (CECRI), Karaikudi.
  5. Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CEERI), Pilani
  6. Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research (CIMFR), Dhanbad
  7. Central Food Technological Research Institute (CFTRI), Mysore.
  8. Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute (CGCRI), Kolkata
  9. Central Leather Research Institute (CLRI), Chennai
  10. Central Institute of Medical and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow
  11. Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute (CMERI), Durgapur.
  12. Central Road Research Institute (CRRI), New Delhi
  13. Central Scientific Instruments Organization (CSIO), Chandigarh
  14. Central Salt & Marine Chemicals Research Institute (CSMCRI), Chandigarh.
  15. Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology (IGIB), Delhi
  16. Institute of Himalayan Bioresources Technology (IHBT), Palampur.
  17. Indian Institute of Chemical Biology (IICB), Kolkata
  18. Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Hyderabad
  19. Indian Institute of Petroleum (IIP), Dehradun
  20. Institute of Microbial Technology (IMTECH), Chandigarh
  21. Indian Institute of Toxicology Research (IITR), Lucknow
  22. National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL), Bengaluru
  23. National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI), Lucknow
  24. National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune
  25. National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), Nagpur
  26. National Geophysica;l Research Institute (NGRI), Hyderabad
  27. National Institute of Oceanogra[phy (NIO), Goa
  28. National Institute of Science Communication and Information Resources (NISCAIR), New Delhi
  29. National Institute of Science, Technology and Development Studies (NISTADS), New Delhi
  30. National Metallurgical Laboratory (NML), Jamshedpur
  31. National Physical Laboratory (NPL), New Delhi
  32. Advanced materials and processes research Institute (AMPRI), Bhopal
  33. Institute of Minerals & Materials Technology (IIMT), Bhubaneshwar
  34. North East Institute of Science & Technology (NEIST), Jorhat
  35. Indian Institute of Integrative, medicine (IIIM), Jammu
  36. National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science & Technology (NIIST), Thiruvananthapuram
  37. Structural Engineering Research center (SERC), Chennai
  38. CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation (CMMACS), Bengaluru
  39. CSIR-Unit For Research and Development of Information Products (URDIP), Pune.

Department of Biotechnology (DBT):

DBT is primarily responsible for identifying and supporting specific R&D programs in biotechnology and biotechnology-related product manufacture.
It also supports the training of young scientists in the field of biotechnology at various universities and institutes.
Autonomous institutions under the department of Biotechnology are
  1. Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics (CDFD), Hyderabad
  2. Institute of Bioresources and Sustainable Development (IBSD), Imphal
  3. Institute of Life Sciences, Bhubaneshwar
  4. National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi
  5. National Institute for Plant Genome Research (NIPGR), JNU, New Delhi
  6. National Brain Research Centre (NBRC), Gurgaon
  7. National Centre for Cell Sciences, Pune
  8. Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram
  9. National Agri-food Biotechnology Institution, (NABI) Mohali
There are two PSUs under the administrative control of the Department of Biotechnology namely,
  1. Bharat Immunologicals and Biologicals Corporation Limited, Bulandshahar: this PSU manufactures the Oral Polio Vaccine (OPV) for the National Immunization Programme.
  2. Indian Vaccines Corporation Limited, Gurgaon. 

Post a Comment