Levels of Management

 Levels of management can be divided into three types, they are

  1. Operational level management
  2. Middle-level management and
  3. Top-Level management.
Each of these types of levels of management discussed below in brief.

Operational Level Management:

They have the following responsibilities:
  • They assign tasks to employees.
  • Guide and supervise subordinates on daily basis.
  • Responsible for quality and quantity of production.
  • Give suggestions to middle-level managers.
  • Help in the execution of various policies and programmes formulated at higher levels.
  • Lower-level managers are the actual executors, hence they must acquire technical skills, having incharge of operations and executions, they must know how to make their subordinates work on technical grounds.

Middle-level Management:

They have the following responsibilities:
  • They are subordinate to the top-level management, however, they are superior to the lower level management.
  • Accountable to higher-level managers.
  • They guide and lead supervisory-level (lower level) managers.
  • Communicate the policies formulated at the upper level to the lower-level managers.
  • They form the link between the upper level and lower-level managers.
  • Middle-level managers must posses these skills as he is a communicator between the top-level and lower-level management. He discloses top-level strategies to the lower level and gives feedback to the top level.

Top Level Management:

They have the following responsibilities:
  • Responsible for organising, strategising and controlling the entire firm.
  • Policy formulation and setting up goals.
  • Making decisions on long term issues.
  • Answerable to various stakeholders such as the general public, shareholders, government etc.
  • Top-level management requires conceptual skills as they devote their time to problem-solving, organising and planning.

Post a Comment