Rights of Women

The rights available to woman can be classified into two categories, namely, constitutional rights and legal rights. The constitutional rights are those which are provided in the various provisions of the constitution. The legal rights, on the other hand, are those which are provided in the various laws (acts) of the Parliament and the State Legislatures.

Constitutional Rights:

The rights and safeguards enshrined in the constitution for women are as follows:

  1. The state shall not discriminate against any citizen on the ground of sex (Article 15(1))
  2. The state is empowered to make any special provision for women. In other words, this provision enables the state to make affirmative discrimination in favour of women (Article  15(3))
  3. No citizen shall be discriminated against or be ineligible for any employment or office under the state on the ground of sex (Article 16(2))
  4. Traffic in human beings and forced labour are prohibited (Article 23(1))
  5. The state to secure for men and women equally the right to an adequate means of livelihood (Article 39(a))
  6. The state to secure equal pay for equal work for both men and women (Article 39(d))
  7. The state is required to ensure that the health and strength of women workers are not abused and that they are not forced by economic necessity to enter avocations unsuited to their strength (Article 39(e))
  8. The state shall make provision for securing just and humane conditions of work and maternity relief (Article 42)
  9. It shall be the duty of every citizen of India to renounce practices derogatory to the dignity  women (Article 51-A(e))
  10. One-third of the total number of seats to be filled by direct election in every Panchayat shall be reserved for women (Article 243-D(3)).
  11. One-third of the total number of offices of chairpersons in the Panchayats at each level shall be reserved for women (Article 243-D(4)).
  12. One-third of the total number of seats to be filled by direct election in every Municipality shall be reserved for women (Article 243-T(3)).
  13. The offices of chairpersons in the Municipalities shall be reserved for women in such manner as the State Legislature may provide (Article 243-T(4)).

Legal Rights:

The following various legislations contain several rights and safeguards for women:

  1. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act (2005) is a comprehensive legislation to protect women from all forms of domestic violence. It also covers women who have been/are in a relationship with the abuser and are subjected to violence of any kind—physical, sexual, mental, verbal or emotional.
  2. Immoral Traffic (Prevention) Act (1956) is the premier legislation for prevention of trafficking for commercial sexual exploitation. In other words, it prevents trafficking in women and girls for the purpose of prostitution as an organised means of living.
  3. Indecent Representation of Women (Prohibition) Act (1986) prohibits indecent representation of women through advertisements or in publications, writings, paintings, figures or in any other manner.
  4. Commission of Sati (Prevention) Act (1987) provides for the more effective prevention of the commission of sati and its glorification.
  5. Dowry Prohibition Act (1961) prohibits the giving or taking of dowry at or before or any time after the marriage.
  6. Maternity Benefit Act (1961) regulates the employment of women in certain establishments for certain period before and after child-birth and provides for maternity benefit and certain other benefits.
  7. Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act (1971) provides for the termination of certain pregnancies by registered medical practitioners on humanitarian and medical grounds.
  8. Pre-Conception and Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques (Prohibition of Sex Selection) Act (1994) prohibits sex selection before or after conception and prevents the misuse of pre-natal diagnostic techniques for sex determination leading to female foeticide.
  9. Equal Remuneration Act (1976) provides for payment of equal remuneration to both men and women workers for same work or work of a similar nature. It also prevents discrimination on the ground of sex, against women in recruitment and service conditions.
  10. Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act (1939) grants a Muslim wife the right to seek the dissolution of her marriage.
  11. Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act (1986) protects the rights of Muslim women who have been divorced by, or have obtained divorce from, their husbands.
  12. Family Courts Act (1984) provides for the establishment of Family Courts for speedy settlement of family disputes.
  13. Indian Penal Code (1860) contains provisions to protect women from dowry death, rape, kidnapping, cruelty and other offences.
  14. Code of Criminal Procedure (1973) has certain safeguards for women like obligation of a person to maintain his wife, arrest of woman by female police and so on.
  15. Indian Christian Marriage Act (1872) contain provisions relating to marriage and divorce among the Christian community.
  16. Legal Services Authorities Act (1987) provides for free legal services to women.
  17. Hindu Marriage Act (1955) introduced monogamy and allowed divorce on certain specified grounds. It provided equal rights to man and woman in respect of marriage and divorce.
  18. Hindu Succession Act (1956) recognises the right of women to inherit parental property equally with men.
  19. Minimum Wages Act (1948) does not allow discrimination between male and female workers or different minimum wages for them.
  20. Mines Act (1952) and Factories Act (1948) prohibits the employment of women between 7 P.M. and 6 A.M. in mines and factories and provides for their safety and welfare.
  21. The following other legislations also contain certain rights and safeguards for women:

    1. Employees’ State Insurance Act (1948)
    2. Plantation Labour Act (1951)
    3. Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act (1976)
    4. Legal Practitioners (Women) Act (1923)
    5. Indian Succession Act (1925)
    6. Indian Divorce Act (1869)
    7. Parsi Marriage and Divorce Act (1936)
    8. Special Marriage Act (1954)
    9. Foreign Marriage Act (1969)
    10. Indian Evidence Act (1872)
    11. Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance Act (1956)
  • National Commission for Women Act (1990) provided for the establishment of a National Commission for Women to study and monitor all matters relating to the constitutional and legal rights and safeguards of women.

  • Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal). Act (2013) provides protection to women from sexual harassment at all workplaces both in public and private sector, whether organised or unorganised.

  • Post a Comment