Human Rights in India

The constitution of India has rich content on human rights. The preamble, the Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles of State Policy, reflect the principles and provisions of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights(1948).

The four ideas of the preamble are aimed at the promotion of human rights. They are as under:

  1. Justice is in social, economic and political spheres.
  2. Liberty of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship.
  3. Equality of status and opportunity.
  4. Fraternity assures the dignity of the individual.
The fundamental rights under Part-III of the Constitution contain an elaborate list of civil and political rights divided into six categories:
  1. Right to equality.
  2. Right to freedom.
  3. Right against exploitation.
  4. Right to freedom of religion.
  5. Culture and education rights.
  6. Right to constitutional remedies.
The Directive Principles of State Policy in Part-IV of the constitution comprise economic, social and cultural rights. They can be classified into three broad categories, viz.,
  1. Socialistic Principles
  2. Gandhian Principles.
  3. Liberal-Intellectual Principles.

Post a Comment