Women Rights in India: Constitutional Rights and Legal Rights

The rights available to women (ladies) in India can be classified into two categories, namely constitutional rights and legal rights. The constitutional rights are provided in the various provisions of the constitution. On the other hand, the legal rights are provided in the various laws (acts) of the Parliament and the State Legislatures.
women rights

Constitutional Rights to Women:

  1. The rights and safeguards enshrined in the constitution for women in India are listed below:
  2. The state shall not discriminate against any citizen of India on the ground of sex [Article 15(1)].
  3. The state is empowered to make any special provision for women. In other words, this provision enables the state to make affirmative discrimination in favour of women [Article 15(3)].
  4. No citizen shall be discriminated against or be ineligible for any employment or office under the state on sex [Article 16(2)].
  5. Traffic in human beings and forced labour are prohibited [Article 23(1)].
  6. The state secures for men and women equally the right to an adequate means of livelihood [Article 39(a)].
  7. The state to secure equal pay for equal work for Indian men and women [Article 39(d)].
  8. The state is required to ensure that the health and strength of women workers are not abused and that they are not forced by economic necessity to enter avocations unsuited to their strength [Article 39(e)].
  9. The state shall make provision for securing just and humane conditions of work and maternity relief [Article 42].
  10. It shall be the duty of every citizen of India to renounce practices derogatory to the dignity of women [Article 51-A(e)].
  11. One-third of the total number of seats to be filled by direct election in every Panchayat shall be reserved for women [Article 243-D(3)].
  12. One-third of the total number of offices of chairpersons in the Panchayats at each level shall be reserved for women [Article 243-D(4)].
  13. One-third of the total number of seats to be filled by direct election in every Municipality shall be reserved for women [Article 243-T(3)].
  14. The offices of chairpersons in the Municipalities shall be reserved for women as the State Legislature may provide [Article 243-T(4)].

Legal Rights to Women:

The following various legislation contains several rights and safeguards for women:
  1. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act (2005) is comprehensive legislation to protect women in India from all forms of domestic violence. It also covers women who have been/are in a relationship with the abuser and are subjected to violence of any kind—physical, sexual, mental, verbal or emotional.
  2. Immoral Traffic (Prevention) Act (1956) is the premier legislation to prevent trafficking for commercial sexual exploitation. In other words, it prevents the trafficking of women and girls for prostitution as an organized means of living.
  3. Indecent Representation of Women (Prohibition) Act (1986) prohibits indecent representation of women through advertisements, publications, writings, paintings, figures, or any other manner.
  4. Commission of Sati (Prevention) Act (1987) provides for the more effective prevention of the commission of sati and its glorification of women.
  5. Dowry Prohibition Act (1961) prohibits giving or taking dowry at or before or any time after women's marriage.
  6. Maternity Benefit Act (1961) regulates women's employment in certain establishments for specific periods before and after childbirth and provides for maternity and certain other benefits.
  7. Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act (1971) provides for the termination of certain pregnancies by registered medical practitioners on humanitarian and medical grounds.
  8. Pre-Conception and Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques (Prohibition of Sex Selection) Act (1994) prohibits sex selection before or after conception. It prevents the misuse of pre-natal diagnostic techniques for sex determination leading to female foeticide.
  9. Equal Remuneration Act (1976) provides for payment of equal remuneration to both men and women workers for the same work or work of a similar nature. It also prevents discrimination on the ground of sex against women in recruitment and service conditions.
  10. Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act (1939) grants a Muslim wife the right to seek the dissolution of her marriage.
  11. Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act (1986)protects the rights of Muslim women who have been divorced by or have obtained a divorce from their husbands.
  12. Family Courts Act (1984) provides for establishing Family Courts for speedy settlement of family disputes.
  13. Indian Penal Code (1860) contains provisions to protect Indian women from dowry death, rape, kidnapping, cruelty and other offenses.
  14. Code of Criminal Procedure (1973) has certain safeguards for women like the obligation of a person to maintain his wife, the arrest of women by female police and so on.
  15. Indian Christian Marriage Act (1872) contains provisions relating to marriage and divorce in the Christian community.
  16. Legal Services Authorities Act (1987) provides free legal services to Indian women.
  17. Hindu Marriage Act (1955) introduced monogamy and allowed divorce on specific specified grounds. It provided equal rights to Indian men and women regarding marriage and divorce.
  18. Hindu Succession Act (1956) recognizes the right of women to inherit parental property equally with men.
  19. Minimum Wages Act (1948) does not allow discrimination between male and female workers or different minimum wages for them.
  20. Mines Act (1952) and Factories Act (1948) prohibits women's employment between 7 P.M. to 6 A.M. in mines and factories and provides for their safety and welfare.
  21. The following other legislation also contains certain rights and safeguards for women.
    1. Employees’ State Insurance Act (1948)
    2. Plantation Labour Act (1951)
    3. Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act (1976)
    4. Legal Practitioners (Women) Act (1923)
    5. Indian Succession Act (1925)
    6. Indian Divorce Act (1869)
    7. Parsi Marriage and Divorce Act (1936)
    8. Particular Marriage Act (1954)
    9. Foreign Marriage Act (1969)
    10. Indian Evidence Act (1872)
    11. Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance Act (1956).
  22. National Commission for Women Act (1990) established a National Commission for Women to study and monitor all matters relating to the constitutional and legal rights and safeguards of women.
  23. Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal). Act (2013) protects women from sexual harassment at all workplaces, both in the public and private sector, whether organized or unorganized.

Post a Comment